Robe Belladone aka My Easter Dress

belladone front

I can’t remember where I first spotted the Deer & Doe patterns, but I’m happy to have discovered them nonetheless.

The pattern I selected for my Easter dress was the Robe Belladone: it’s a fairly classic looking dress with a surprise opening in the back.

belladone back

I had some issues with the binding I chose – I should have used something narrower to get the full effect, but I still like the look of the gingham. Also, I didn’t have an invisible zipper foot when I installed the zipper so that’s a design element I wasn’t really going for. And my last issue: I accidentally cut a slit in the top of the bodice when serging the waistband (don’t ask!).

In spite of all of that, I received many compliments and would try the dress again, improving upon my previous mistakes.

And finally, a picture of me in the dress with my girls on Easter:

Easter

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 07:48:53

    CUTE!!! It looks great!! I love the back!!

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 14:00:27

    Thank you, Pam!!

    Reply

Leave a comment